Award of 2010-2011 Auschwitz Foundation Prizes: Thursday 22 September 2011

The Auschwitz Foundation Prizes will be awarded during an academic ceremony at the Hôtel de Ville, Brussels


The Auschwitz Foundation Prizes, given annually in homage to all victims of the Nazi concentration and extermination camps, have been awarded for the academic year 2010-2011 to the two following researchers:


  • The “Auschwitz Foundation Prize” (EUR 6,250) has been awarded to Raphaël TOLEDANO for his thesis entitled Les Expériences Médicales du Professeur Eugen Haagen de la Reichuniversität Strassburg : Faits, Contexte et Procès d’un Médecin National-Socialiste [Medical Experiments by Professor Eugen Haagen of the Reichuniversität Strassburg: the Facts, the Context and the Trial of a National-Socialist Doctor], presented for the title of Doctor in Medicine of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Strasbourg, 2010, 686 p.
  • The “Auschwitz Foundation Prize – Jacques Rozenberg” (EUR 3,125) has been awarded to Jean-Louis ROUHART for his manuscript entitled Beitrag der illegalen Korrespondenz als Forschungsquelle zur Geschichte der deutschen NS-Konzentrationslager. Pädagogische Anwendungsmöglichkeiten [Illegal correspondence as a source for research into the history of Nazi concentration camps: educational applications], Liège, 2010, 256 p.


As in previous years, the Prizes will be awarded during an academic ceremony held before the country’s leading academic and political authorities at 18h00 on Thursday 22 September in the Salle Gothique of the Hôtel de Ville, Grand Place, 1000 Brussels.



Please confirm that you will be present: Tel: +32 (0)2 512 79 98 – Fax: +32 (0)2 512 58 84 – Contact by email

Additional information

The website of the Remembrance of Auschwitz and the Auschwitz Foundation uses cookies to help you navigate efficiently and perform certain functions. By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies.